Student Visa Information for Traveling to Malta

  • Home
  • Student Visa Information for Traveling to Malta

Welcome to GV Malta’s comprehensive guide to obtaining a student visa for your English language studies in Malta. This page provides essential information on the student visa application process, requirements, and regulations to ensure a smooth and successful experience during your time with us.


The following information does not apply to EU citizens.

Identify your visa type

Malta offers two types of student visas: short-stay visas for courses lasting less than 90 days and long-stay visas for courses exceeding 90 days. Whether you’re joining us for a short language course or a long-term study program, it’s crucial to understand the visa requirements and procedures.

Third-country nationals attending courses of a duration that does not exceed 90 days are to be issued with a Schengen Short-Stay Visa (C-Visa).

The applicant is to present his/her application at one of the submission points indicated below where the applicant resides or is legally present together with supporting documents:


  • Directly at one of Malta’s missions or consular posts;
  • At the premises of another Member State representing Malta, or;
  • At the premises of an authorised External Service Provider.

Together with his/her application, the applicant is required to submit their biometric data.If approved, the visa shall be granted based on a multiple entry visa for the duration of the entire course, plus a 7-day grace period, provided that the total amount does not exceed 90 days.

The above procedure is not applicable for students who are listed as visa-exempt nationals. Source

Applicants (including those TCNs who are visa exempt for 90 days) who apply for courses which exceed 90 calendar days are to be issued with a National Long Stay Visa (D-Visa).

Applicants must present their application at one of the submission points indicated below:

  • At the premises of an authorised External Service Provider.



Frequently Asked Questions

The following countries do not need to apply for the Schengen Short-Stay Visa:

Antigua and Barbuda
Bosnia and Herzegovina*
Costa Rica
El Salvador
Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region of China)
Macao (Special Administrative Region of China)
Marshall Islands
New Zealand
North Macedonia*
Saint Kitts and Nevis
Saint Lucia
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
San Marino
Solomon Islands
South Korea
Trinidad and Tobago
United Arab Emirates
United Kingdom***
United States
Vatican City

*Citizens of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, and Ukraine may need a biometric passport to enter the Schengen area visa-free.

**For Taiwan, the exemption applies to holders of passports issued by Taiwan which include an identity card number.

***For the United Kingdom, the exemption applies to British citizens with the unrestricted right of residence in the United Kingdom. This includes those with the right of abode in the United Kingdom, the right of re-admission to the United Kingdom, and unrestricted access to the United Kingdom. 


  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Belarus
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burma/Myanmar
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • China
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Côte d´Ivoire
  • Cuba
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Jamaica
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mongolia
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • North Korea
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Syria
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uganda
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Students who would require a further authorisation to stay in Malta are required to contact the CVU not before 30 days, and by not later than 21 days, before the expiry of their visa, and present all the required documents including proof of satisfactory performance and attendance.

If the duration of the course exceeds 365 days and the student would have already exhausted the validity of the national visa, or his/her stay in the Schengen area already exceeded 365 days, the student must apply for a residence permit to extend his/her stay in Malta. Applicants will be required to contact the Identità Expatriates Unit not before 30 days and by not later than 21 days before the expiry of his/her visa and present all the required documents including proof of satisfactory performance and attendance. Source

Students who are following an English Language course at our school which exceeds 90 days, may take up employment in Malta. Access to employment may be granted subject to conditions imposed by Jobsplus, including those sectors where these students would be allowed to work. Students will only be allowed to work a maximum of 20 hours per week after their first three (3) months of study in Malta. These provisions are subject to change from time to time according to the discretion of the Ministry responsible for Jobsplus. Source

GV Malta Visa Policy

Students needing an entry visa for Malta must apply for a visa in their own country prior to arrival in Malta. Documents from the school will be issued upon receipt of full payment. Any bank and/or postal charges incurred will be paid by the student. GV Malta cannot be held responsible for decisions taken by Maltese/foreign Authorities regarding entry visas or visa extensions.
A refund less €150 per student + any bank charges + postal charges will be given within 30 days of written proof of visa refusal. If the enrolment start date is postponed due to delays in the application process, the school may not be able to offer the same original course and/or accommodation allocation as originally booked. 

Although we will guide students where possible, the school will not be held responsible in any way in ensuring the visa is applied for in a timely manner. It is the student’s responsibility to ensure that the applications and documents are submitted on time. It is highly recommended that students who require a visa speak to a school representative.


Please note that visa regulations and requirements are subject to change by the relevant authorities at any time. While we strive to provide accurate and up-to-date information on this page, it is essential for students to verify the details and check the source links provided for the latest updates.

GV Malta will not be held responsible for any inaccuracies, omissions, or changes in visa regulations. It is the responsibility of students to ensure they have the correct and current information before making any travel arrangements or visa applications. We recommend consulting official government websites or contacting relevant embassies or consulates for the most reliable and current visa information.